Are you being charged with driving under the influence?
The most important thing you can do when facing a DUI charge is know your rights and hire the right attorney. Call NOW (801) 266-0100. Setting up your appointment is easy and fast.
Facing a DUI in Utah? Retain an Experienced Attorney
Being pulled over on the suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol is frightening, and can be potentially shattering to your professional and personal life. The sight of those flashing blue lights in your rearview mirror is enough to make your pulse quicken. Maybe you had a few beers, but felt like you were fine to drive home. You may have done it lots of times before. But this time it didn’t work out, and you found yourself charged with a DUI. You undoubtedly asked yourself, “Now what?”
If you are convicted of DUI in Utah, even your first offense carries mandatory 48 hours jail time, but can be satisfied through community service instead of jail. You also lose your license for 120 days and pay a hefty fine. For a second offense, it’s a minimum of 10 days in jail, an $800 fine and the loss of your license for two years. In Utah, a third offense is a felony. Penalties include a minimum of 62.5 days in jail, a $1,500 fine and loss of your license for two years along with all the ramifications of having a felony record.
DUI Convictions Have Far-Reaching Consequence
A DUI conviction is a serious matter, potentially disastrous to you and your loved ones. It could result in you losing your security clearance or your job. Even if you keep your job, it will be more difficult getting to and from it. Your freedom to pop out to the grocery store or the mall on a moment’s notice will be gone. If you have kids, you will be unable to drive them to school, doctor’s appointments, friends’ houses or activities. If driving is your job, you will be out of work altogether. Your family will likely be disappointed with you, embarrassed and angry.
You want to avoid a DUI conviction on your record at all costs. Even if you are young or unemployed, a conviction can follow you for the rest of your life, affecting your ability to get a job or even to own a personal firearm if it is a felony.
Get Qualified Help
Presumably you were given a chemical test at the scene. You are allowed to refuse to take the test, but doing so means you must automatically give up your license for 18 months (or longer) and pay a fine for a first offense. The blood alcohol content limit in Utah is the same as in many other states — 0.08 percent (0.4 for commercial drivers and there is zero tolerance for those under 21).
It is critical if you have been charged with a DUI to have an experienced attorney on your side. Don’t just use a lawyer you know who may never have even tried any DUI cases. You need knowledgeable professionals to stand with you to help get you the best possible result in your case. If you have been charged with DUI in Utah, call Attorney Robert B. Breeze and get a highly skilled, seasoned professional on your side.